Mr Ravish Kamath Elected as President of Plastindia Foundation for the Term 2023-26


Dr Raju Desai takes over as Vice President and Mr Dharmendra Gandhi as Hon.Treasurer

Mumbai, Date 29 September 2023, Plastindia Foundation, an apex body of the association, organizations, and institutions connected with Plastics & dedicated to promoting the growth and sustainability of the plastics industry in India, is pleased to announce the election of Mr Ravish Kamath as its President, Dr Raju Desai as Vice-President and Mr Dharmendra Gandhi as Treasurer for the term 2023-26. The announcement was made during the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on September 28, 2023. The new Managing Committee comprising of senior entrepreneurs of the plastics industry assumed office with immediate effect. Mr Ravish Kamath took over from Mr Jigish Doshi.

As President, Mr Ravish Kamath will lead the Foundation in its mission to advance growth in innovation, sustainability, and responsible practices within the plastics sector and its verticals. He brings with him a wealth of experience and a deep commitment to the industry's growth and development.

Mr Kamath is the Founder/CEO of Big Bags International Private Limited, one of the major manufacturers and exporters of Flexible intermediate bulk containers (FIBC’s) operating since 1993.  He was the Chairman of Plexconcil between September 2018 and December 2020 and currently he is the Panel Chairman FIBC, Plexconcil. He was the founder President of IFIBCA (Indian Flexible Bulk Container Association) in the year 2002 and again between 2012 to 2014. He is the past President of AIFTMA, the association of plastic woven sacks manufacturing of India 

Mr Ravish Kamath expressed his gratitude and said: "I am deeply honored to take on the role of President at Plastindia Foundation. The Plastics industry is a vital component of India's economy. It plays a crucial role in various sectors, including manufacturing, healthcare, agriculture, construction, and packaging. As we move forward, my focus will be on fostering collaboration, innovation, and sustainability in the growth of the plastic industry. We will work closely with all our stakeholders, government bodies, and industry partners to drive positive change and thus,  work towards creating positive image of Plastics. Together, we will chart a path for a more sustainable and prosperous future.”

.Dr Raju Desai who has taken over as Vice President is another industry veteran and has worked on the betterment of the Plastic Industry on various projects. He is the  Chairman & Managing Director of  Jyoti Group, He is also Vice President of Plastindia International University & Past President of AIPMA (All India Plastics Manufacturers Association) Dr Raju Desai said, “The Plastindia Foundation, through its Plastindia exhibition and various related industry’s initiatives, including PROPLAST, offers a tremendous platform for the entire spectrum of the plastic industry, encompassing machinery, raw materials, and finished products. The foundation's ongoing mission is dedicated to fostering the growth of the Indian plastic industry, focusing on scalability, sustainibilty, and the development of a circular economy. I am sure that under the able leadership of Mr Ravish Kamath, this team  will be able to overcome various challenges and meet the expectations of the Industry.”

Mr Dharmendra Gandhi, the new Treasurer of Plastindia Foundation is a co-founder of the Mutual Group. With over four decades of experience, he has been instrumental in introducing the latest machine technology to the Indian polymer industry. Having being actively involved in the Polymer community, in particular firstly as President of the Organization of Plastic Processors of India and now being part of Plastindia Foundation,  Mr. Gandhi’s Vision centers on providing innovative solutions while prioritizing environmental and energy conservation, which will prove to be invaluable to the growth of the Plastic Industry. 

The Members of the Managing Committee for the term 2023-26 are – President Mr Ravish Kamath, Vice President Dr Raju Desai, Hon. Treasurer Mr Dharmendra Gandhi, Imm. Past President Mr Jigish Doshi, Mr Hemant Minocha, Mr. Jayesh K. Rambhia, Mr. V. K. Taparia, Mr. Alpesh Bipinchandra Patel, Mr. Rashmikant Kishorchandra Mehta, Mr. Ramesh Kumar Rateria, Mr. Sisir Jalan, Mr. Abhay Upadhye, Mr. Anil Reddy Vennam, Prof.(Dr.) Shishir Sinha, Dr. P.S.G. Krishnan, Mr. Kamal P. Nanavaty and Mr. Raj Kumar Lohia

Plastindia Foundation extends its congratulations to Mr. Ravish Kamath, Dr Raju Desai, Mr Dharmendra Gandhi and all the newly elected members of Managing Committee and looks forward to a productive and transformative term under their leadership.

About Plastindia Foundation:
Established in 1987, PLASTINDIA FOUNDATION is the apex body of the major association, organizations, and institutions connected with Plastics focused to promote the development of the plastics industry and assist in the growth of Plastics and related materials. The Foundation is a nonprofit organization committed to the nation’s growth through the development of the Plastics sector. The aim of the Foundation is to facilitate the export-led growth of the Indian Plastics industry and help boost exports both in volume and revenues. It aims to make India the number one destination and the preferred sourcing base of Plastic products in the world.

For media inquiries, please contact:
Ms Shital Patel
Sr. Manager – PR & Communications

Email id


  Back to Press Release

Previous PressRelease

Next PressRelease

{{comment.Name}} made a post.




There are no comments to display. Be the first one to comment!


Name Required.


Email Id Required.

Email Id Not Valid.


Mobile Required.

Email ID and Mobile Number are kept private and will not be shown publicly.

Message Required.

Click to Change image  Refresh Captcha



Dispenser Pump, Spray Pump

Dispenser Pump, Spray Pump